Nominations open to recognise industry’s finest

Media Release
25 October, 2019

Nominations are still open for The Taxi Council of Queensland (TCQ)’s 2019 Industry Awards which recognise and celebrate those who have made outstanding contributions to the improvement of the industry.

The 2019 awards see exciting new categories to acknowledge and appreciate the diversity in people, backgrounds and personalities of the industry.

TCQ CEO, Blair Davies, says the awards pay tribute to the dedication and achievements of some of the taxi industry’s finest across the Sunshine State.

“For over 100 years, taxis in Queensland have been committed to providing excellent transportation services to our community and this could not be achieved without the incredible professionalism and quality of service of our industry members,” Mr Davies said.

“We continue to see and hear of the commitment and passion from the nominations and it’s the breadth of backgrounds that ensures we are able to deliver the exceptional service that helps our taxi service rank amongst the best in the world. This is why we have included new categories this year, to recognise the varied people that contribute to the ongoing success of the taxi industry.

“I encourage everyone to consider nominating someone they believe is worthy of one of the category titles and give them the opportunity for well-deserved recognition.”

This year’s award categories include Driver of the Year, Operator of the Year, Significant Achievement Award, Women in Taxis Award, Young Achiever Award and Staff Excellence Award.

Nominations are open in regions across the state including Brisbane (Ipswich and Redcliffe), Gold Coast, Far North Queensland, North Queensland, Central Queensland, Capricornia, Wider Bay, Sunshine Coast and South West Queensland.

Nominators only need to complete a short, written submission stating their reason for nominating.

The winners will be announced at the TCQ Industry Awards Dinner which will be held on 26 November 2019 at the Rydges Hotel in South Bank.

Nominations will be accepted until close of business on Tuesday 5 November 2019.

To nominate please visit: